Skip to Content

13th Annual Awards Ceremony for the Elite Youth Outreach

Rita Ali Carl Cannon
Mayor Ali officially declared May 13 to be Peoria Park District Youth Outreach and Intervention Division Day

PEORIA (WEEK) - Peoria Mayor Rita Ali presented former Mayor Jim Ardis the Elite Lifetime Achievement Award at Thursday night's 2021 Elite Youth Outreach Graduation.

Elite graduates completed a program that teaches respect, acts of courtesy, and civility. Their instructors teach students that it is not about what they've done in the past, it's about where they're going in the future.

More than 40 people were honored at Thursday night's 13th annual Awards ceremony sponsored by the Scottish Rite Theatre.

The banquet was filled with live music and several awards to Heart of Illinois residents who have given back to the community.

"This is the 13th year where we're culminating in a celebration of young people who are moving forward in the work world," said Carl Cannon who runs the Elite Youth Outreach Program for the Peoria Park District.

Mayor Ali also officially declared May 13 to be Peoria Park District Youth Outreach and Intervention Division Day.

This year's awards and their recipients include the following:

  • Chuck Scofield Memorial Award
  • Ms. Monica Wilson
  • ELITE Community Service Award
  • Reverend Marvin D. Hightower
  • ELITE Executive Leadership Award
  • Mr. Derrick Booth
  • ELITE Executive Leadership Award
  • Mr. Kim Blickenstaff
  • ELITE Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Mayor Jim Ardis

This year's high school graduates include the following:

  • Adriyona Alexander-Carpenter
  • Sterhlyng Adkins-Dutro
  • Armon Allen
  • Independence Armstrong
  • Lorena Barriga
  • Elijah Berry
  • Chance Booth
  • Jonasia Brown
  • Joanna Camacho
  • Kailey Cassidy
  • Bakama Diakite
  • Sarijah Fitzgerald
  • Francisco Garcia
  • Evelyn Giron
  • Adrianna Goss
  • Karma Henderson
  • Ju'niyah Hurd
  • Percy King
  • Anna Leitner
  • Mia Lisowsky
  • Justus Omowumi
  • Akeisjah Parker
  • Tabriz Pittman
  • Amare Pollard
  • JC Preciado
  • Jesus Reyes
  • Ahmani Rufai
  • Melanie Tamayo
  • Shannon Tuma
  • Jhay'Da Wells
  • Sarah Young

This year's re-entry graduates include the following:

  • Kelviunta Coleman
  • Roderick Coleman
  • Ashley Duncan
  • Fred Forest
  • Marvin King
  • Dorzedwards Moore

Deanna Cantu

Skip to content