Skip to Content

Stacked races set the stage for February primary election in Peoria

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

PEORIA (WEEK) - In all his time working for the Peoria Election Commission, Executive Director Thomas Bride said he's never seen this many contenders for Mayor. With seven candidates filing their petitions with intent to run for Mayor, there are still five other races that will need a primary election also.

In addition to the Mayoral race, Peoria's 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th District council seats will be featured in the primary. Along with the Peoria County Treasurer position that makes six races in Peoria on February 23. Bride said the Township Supervisor race has multiple candidates from the same party so that race will also be on the primary ballot.

Bride said Limestone Township will feature the Road Commissioner race on primary ballots. And Bride didn't have the information directly in front of him, but said Bartonville may be needing a primary election as well.

Each race with three or more candidates who file requires a primary to narrow the field to two candidates before the general election. The two candidates receiving the most votes in the primary will advance to the general on April 6.

But extra elections mean more costs are accrued. "On a pure ballpark basis, you're probably talking $40,000, maybe a little bit more," explained Bride.

The primary election, Bride said is, "It's just like any other election. You can vote early, by mail, or on election day." Anyone who requests a ballot can vote by mail in Peoria County.

Here are a list of the races requiring a primary. For a full list you can access the Peoria Election Commission site here.

City of Peoria Mayor: Andres Diaz, Rita Ali, Jim Montelongo, Couri Thomas, Sid Ruckriegel, Chama St. Louis, Charles M. Brown.

1st District City Council: Denise Jackson, Denise Moore (incumbent) , Aaron Chess, Jr., Alexander Sierra.

2nd District City Council: Peter Kobak, James Kemper, Charles V. Grayeb (incumbent).

3rd District City Council: Gale Thetford, Lawrence J. Maushard, Timothy Riggenbach (incumbent).

4th District City Council: Andre W. Allen, Stephen A. Kouri, Patricia Melaik.

City of Peoria Treasurer: David M. Beck, Patrick T. Risen, Stephen Morris, Brook Petty Sommerville.

Peoria Township Supervisor: Frank Abdnour (D), LaTrina Leary (D).

Kyle Beachy

Kyle Beachy is a Multimedia Journalist for 25 News and Heart of Illinois. Born and raised in Kokomo, Indiana, he attended Indiana Wesleyan University where he studied Education and played baseball. He comes to us from Columbus, Ohio where he received a Master’s Degree from The Ohio State University.

Skip to content