Skip to Content

11 Ill. counties placed on COVID-19 warning level; Peoria, LaSalle counties removed

SPRINGFIELD (WEEK) -- The Illinois Department of Public Health has placed 11 more counties on a warning level due to an increase in COVID-19-risk indicators.

The latest counties to be considered at a warning level include Cass, Gallatin, Jackson, Jo Daviess, Johnson, Perry, Randolph, Saline, Sangamon, St. Clair and White.

A county enters the warning list if it reports an increase in two or more indicators in the state's COVID-19 Resurgence Mitigation plan.

Peoria and LaSalle counties were placed on a warning level last week, but have been removed due to the counties improving to having a warning for just one indicator.

However, Peoria County is still showing a warning for one indicator as of Friday -- new cases per 100,000 people with the IDPH's target having less than 50 per 100,000. The county is reporting 107 per 100,000.

Peoria County last week had a second warning for its percentage of COVID-like illnesses in the emergency room.

Between last week and this week, the county's emergency room visits by those with COVID-like symptoms was stable compared to the prior week's reports, thus being removed in that category.

The IDPH says the 11 counties brought to a warning level "saw outbreaks associated with business operations and activities posing higher risk for disease spread."

Some of those activities include high school graduation ceremonies, a rise in cases in late teens and those in their 20s, parties and social gatherings, people going to bars and outbreaks at long-term care facilities.

An interactive map with all Illinois counties and the indicators a part of the COVID-19 Resurgence Mitigation plan can be found here.

Author Profile Photo

25 News

Skip to content