Skip to Content

Pritzker issues disaster proclamation for 9 counties

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WREX) — Gov. J.B. Pritzker signed a disaster proclamation for nine Illinois counties to expedite state resources, personnel and equipment.

These counties include: Cook, DuPage, Kane, Champaign, Kendall, Macon, Madison, Sangamon and Will.

The governor also activated 250 members of the Illinois National Guard to support local law enforcement with protests. The Illinois State Police will also provide 300 additional state troopers.

 “We cannot allow those who have taken advantage of this moment to loot and smash to also steal the voices of those peacefully expressing a need for real, meaningful change," Pritzker said. "This anger doesn’t come out of nowhere – it’s born of decades and centuries of systemic racism and injustice. That’s what all of us have to recognize and that’s where our work begins.”

On Sunday, IEMA Director Alicia Tate-Nadeau closed all Community Based COVID-19 Testing Sites in Illinois to protect staff and patients during protests. IEMA will announce a reopening date soon.

Author Profile Photo

25 News

Skip to content