Skip to Content

McLean County Democrats have 7 candidates running for county board seats

BLOOMINGTON (WJBC) — McLean County Democrats are introducing a slate of candidates that will try to give the party a majority on the county board.

Our news partner WJBC reports, at Democratic party headquarters in Downtown Bloomington Friday the candidates announced include incumbent George Gordon in District 6.  Ben Webb will run in District 4.

Gordon was first elected to the board in 1996.  Webb was unsuccessful in last year’s election against State Rep. Dan Brady in the 105th District.  District 4 Republican Bill Caisley will not seek re-election.  He has endorsed Republican Adelita Cruz.

Jeff Bertrand, of Heyworth, will run in District 2. That seat is held by Republican William Friedrich who was appointed to the board. In District 5 Rachael Lund, of Normal, will try to unseat Republican and board chairman John McIntyre.

Lea Cline, associate professor of Art History at Illinois State University, will run in District 8.  She will face Illinois Wesleyan University student Jordan Baker who’s running as a Republican. Democrat Carlo Robustelli announced that he would not be seeking re-election in District 8.

The final two candidates include Val Laymon in District 7 and Jackie Gunderson in District 9. Laymon, an ISU aluma, will face Republican Jacob Beard.  Gunderson, currently a non-traditional student at Lincoln College, will try to unseat Republican Susan Shafer.

The slate of Democratic candidates is the largest in the party’s history.  The GOP currently has the majority on the county board 13-7.

Drew Veskauf

Skip to content