Skip to Content

Tazewell County board votes to redistrict voter precincts

TAZEWELL COUNTY (WEEK) – Wednesday night, the Tazewell County board voted 13-6 to approve new voter precinct maps.

Before the vote, there were 135 precincts, now there will be 109, according to county clerk, John Ackerman.

Ackerman said the reason for the change is to balance out the populations of the districts after shifts in population.

Ackerman estimates the changes will save the county up to $280,000 during federal election years.

The change takes effect in the 2020 March primary. If you live in Tazewell County, we are told your new polling information will be mailed to you.

Molly Jirasek

Skip to content